The Kathryn Gurfein Writing Fellowship Celebration, October 2020

    Tuesday, October 27, 2020 at 7:00 PM until 8:00 PMEastern Daylight Time

    Please join The Writing Institute for a celebration of The Kathryn Gurfein Writing Fellowship. We will announce the 2020 Gurfein Writing Fellows and honor last year's recipients and their mentors:

    Tiffany Dugan and mentor Marian Thurm
    Lea Geller and mentor Mary LaChapelle

    The Kathryn Gurfein Writing Fellowship at Sarah Lawrence College was founded in 2005 after Kathy Gurfein experienced first-hand the talent and dedication of Writing Institute students. "At the Writing Institute I found a group of serious, passionately dedicated writers. No matter what class I took, the writing was always of a high caliber. The environment was very nurturing, and so was everyone there—when you're around people with that kind of dedication, it sparks that same creativity. It inspired me to create the Fellowship."

    This one of a kind fellowship, open to writers who take classes at The Writing Institute, provides a recipient, chosen by a select panel of judges, with a yearlong opportunity to work closely with a mentor on a writing project of their choice. Current and past judges have included Mark Medoff, Lynda Sturner, Rachel Cohen, Barbara Gordon, Andrew Gross, Stephen Lang, Marian Thurm, and Jon Pessah. Previous Gurfein Writing Fellows have been signed by literary agents and published in newspapers, magazines, and journals.

    Note: Zoom link provided after registration.

    Registration is no longer available because the registration deadline has passed.