The Kathryn Gurfein Writing Fellowship Celebration, May 2019

    Sunday, May 5, 2019 at 2:00 PM until 3:30 PM

    Sarah Lawrence College
    The Monika A. and Charles A. Heimbold, Jr. Visual Arts Center
    Bronxville, NY 10708
    United States

    Please join The Writing Institute for a celebration of the Kathryn Gurfein Writing Fellowship at Sarah Lawrence College. We will announce the 2019 Gurfein Writing Fellows and honor last year's winners and their mentors:
    Sarah Rubin, poet, and mentor Paige Ackerson-Kiely
    Amy Lynn Lewis, memoir, and mentor Marian Thurm

    Donnelley Film Theatre
    Heimbold Visual Art Center
    935 Kimball Avenue
    Bronxville, NY 10708

    Parking is available across the street in the Andrews parking lot.

    The Kathryn Gurfein Writing Fellowship at Sarah Lawrence College was founded in 2005 after Kathy Gurfein experienced first-hand the talent and dedication of Writing Institute students. "At the Writing Institute I found a group of serious, passionately dedicated writers. No matter what class I took, the writing was always of a high caliber. The environment was very nurturing, and so was everyone there—when you're around people with that kind of dedication, it sparks that same creativity. It inspired me to create the Fellowship."

    This one of a kind fellowship, open to writers who take classes at The Writing Institute, provides two recipients, chosen by a select panel of judges, with a yearlong opportunity to work closely with a mentor on a writing project of their choice. Current and past judges have included Mark Medoff, Lynda Sturner, Rachel Cohen, Barbara Gordon, Andrew Gross, Stephen Lang, Marian Thurm, and Jon Pessah. Previous Gurfein Writing Fellows have been signed by literary agents and published in newspapers, magazines, and journals.

    Registration is no longer available because the registration deadline has passed.